Questions and answers to Swift Justice about his experiences in the Alabama Department of Corrections.

Men inside of Alabama prisons are being beaten, and dehumanized on a daily basis during this covid-19 pandemic, and the whole time it’s apparent that no one, including the Department of Justice and Alabama taxpayers care to investigate and end the abuse, stating that policy will not allow them to enter the prisons. So who stands for these men during these times? Are you on your own?

Q. What’s your thoughts about this?


A. Honestly, I’m through thinking on things we already know we’re not going to change. Attorney General William Barr has done very little more than Jeff sessions did about the prisons in Alabama, while he was the US Attorney General. The Department of Justice feels the lives of us on the inside aren’t worth no more than negotiations. Alabama don’t give a s***, and the Department of Justice don’t give a s***. So yeah, we’re on our own pretty much.


Q. You have made predictions in the past about things to come in the Alabama prison system if things do not change. You have any predictions now?


A. My predictions in the past have always been pretty somber and so far have come true. Maybe I should change that up and try lying to myself by saying we are on the verge of being seen as humans, and Department of Justice is doing great with protecting us from the Confederate State of Alabama. Maybe I should predict men will not die?


Q. You’ve been working hand-in-hand with the Department of Justice for a while now haven’t you?


A. Yes.


Q. Alabama division or the Department of Justice in Washington DC?


A. Both. But mostly DC.


Q. What are your thoughts about the willingness to hear you, and what areas have you direct their attention?


A. There’s been many moments where I feel my voice has been heard for appeasement and appeasement only, then other moments I force myself to believe it will make a difference one day and keep pushing. But you can rest assure those moments are over shadowed by the appeasement moments.  As far as the areas I have focused on and provided information on, I’m focused on overcrowding, denial of medical and mental health care, and most recently officer on inmate violence. The latter of those three being one that we witness daily. Here at Kilby the gangstas are the police not us, and God knows it’s not a question of “if” I get my ass beat, but “when” I do. That’s what we wake up looking forward to each morning.


Q. You have been retaliated on since you have been at Kilby, can you tell us about that?


A. Sure. However, I think it important to note that the retaliation goes way beyond Kilby. Alabama Department of Corrections has a habit of fabricating disciplinary and citation infractions, that’s implemented as a tactic to silence people who voice things or file litigation against them. They did it at Limestone, and they continued it at Fountain and then here. On April 15th this year, Captain Hudson conspired with an inmate by the name of Thomas Arrington who is a known junkie to say I assaulted him, then conspired with a lieutenant and a correctional officer to plant a cell phone on me, while I was in lockup for the assault. Not to mention the charge I was charged with back in October of 2019 for fighting. The guy I was accused of fighting, Hunter Bush, testified at the disciplinary hearing he got jumped by multiple inmates, and all I did was stop the assault. However, Lieutenant Eric Bradford (the hearing officer) still found me guilty voicing that I should think about that before I talked to the media. Then recently, Captain John Hudson himself, charged me with a fabricated disciplinary and citation. Failure to obey a direct order, and disorderly conduct. The allegations were saying that I typed and printed out a flyer in relations to the protest that is to occur at the parole board in Montgomery on June 23rd 24th and 25th. I’m still waiting to see the outcome of the disciplinary will be, but the citation we can’t fight.


Q. Explain how this can be considered retaliation I mean it’s not a physical assault.


A. That’s easy to be misconstrued. I know most people think that’s the only way someone can be retaliated against. But the truth is there are ways like I just explained, that hurt worse. Cuts, black eyes, bruises, and even broken bones heal. But denied parole and visits from your children can’t be given back. That’s irreplaceable. That’s actually more sacred to us in here. Do you realize how many times I’ve seen men choose to be beaten over getting disciplinary actions? That’s sad but it’s true. I haven’t seen my kids in nearly two years because of these tactics and it hurts bad. Not to mention continuous transfers from prison to prison.

Leave a comment